Image & Narrative

Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples. Each issue features three parts: 1) a thematic cluster, guest-edited by specialized scholars in the field; 2) a selection of various articles; 3) reviews of recent publications. Image [&] Narrative is a bilingual journal, which publishes contributions in either English or French, and which fosters cross-cultural and interdisciplinary dialogue between linguistic and scientific traditions.

Announcements

 

Call for Papers

 
Articles can be submitted any time for the 'Various articles' section. For special issues, see CFP below.
 
Posted: 2010-05-14 More...
 

Issues in preparation

 

-"Transformed by Comics: the influence of comics/BD/graphic novels on the Novel", guest editors Hugo Frey (h.frey@chi.ac.uk ) and Chris Reyns-Chikuma (reynschi@ualberta.ca). (17.3)

- "Comics in Art/Art in Comics", guest editors Erin La Cour, University of Utrecht (erinlacour@gmail.com) and Rik Spanjers, University of Amsterdam (‎r.spanjers@uva.nl). (17.4)

-"Artaud and Cruelty", guest editor Angelos Koutsourakis (angelos.koutsourakis@uq.edu.au). (17.5)

- "The Audiovisual Production of Transcultural Memory in Europe", guest editors Astrid Erll, Univ. Frankfurt (erll@em.uni-frankfurt.de) and Ann Rigney, Univ. Utrecht (a.rigney@uu.nl). (18.1)

-"(Re)politiser les discours sur la photographie", guest-editors Anaïs Mauurin (mauuarin.anais@gmail.com), Eliane de Larminat (elianedelarminat@gmail.com), Vera Leon Escapades (vera.leon.eschapasse@gmail.com) & Alice Morin (alicemorin@laposte.net). (18.2)

-"Horace Walpole", guest editors Dr. Jakub Lipski, Kazimierz Wielki University, Bydgoszcz, Poland (j.lipski@ukw.edu.pl). (18.3)

-"L'expérience de l'erreur en photographie/The Experience of Error in Photography", guest-editor Alexander Streitberger, UCL (alex.streitberger@uclouvain.be) (18.4)

 
Posted: 2010-05-11 More...
 
More Announcements...

Vol 17, No 3 (2016)

The influence of comics/BD/graphic novels on the Novel

Table of Contents

Thematic Cluster

Chris Reyns-Chikuma, Hugo Frey
PDF
1-5
Benoît Glaude
PDF
6-20
Laurent Bozard
PDF
21-31
Chris Gavaler
PDF
32-45
Sara Tanderup
PDF
46-56
Tiffany Hong
PDF
57-67
Jean-Matthieu Méon
PDF
68-85
Julio Gutiérrez
PDF
86-97
Julian Peters
PDF
98-112

Review Articles

Jan Baetens
PDF
113-114
Gert-Jan Meyntjens
PDF
115-116
Jan Baetens
PDF
117-118
Anne Reverseau
PDF
119-120